Happy New Year

Happy New Year my lovelies. I know it’s a little far into the year but I have been running around like a chicken with her head cut off. Haven’t had a chance to do much travelling because it’s crunch time at school. But I’ve been thinking seriously about the traveling thing and the places I’ve always wanted to go. Here’s a quick list of my top places where I am seriously considering taking off my list until they get their acts together.

The truth is, I travel for enjoyment and there are times when I look through my travel list and I wonder why I want to go to some places. I’m not much of a political person, I am more of a think with my heart most places kind of places.  While I’m not a really big activist, I do try and live my life in a certain, with certain principles.

Indian – While India is a beautiful place (from what I can see in the pictures and from my friends) it’s lovely. The culture is rich and thousands of years old. I mean come on, the Kama Sutra! Who wouldn’t want to visit the place that came up with positions where you have to be a gymnist to perform? But lately (and this is just lately) two women have been gang raped on a bus. One victim was gang raped and beaten then tossed off a moving bus with her friend and left for dead. While her friend survived, she died after doctors couldn’t stop her organs from shutting down. It breaks my heart to see this and I figure until they can get their things together, create laws that will protect everyone, protect women and their rights, that I will remove this country from my list.

Russia – The whole thing about the adoptions and the US is signs of worry for me. Enough said there.

This goes back to what I said before of being safe. But, you can also use your travelling to show things you support and WILL not support. It’s safety and being able to sleep at nights.

Hugs,

Kadian

Leave a comment