Fantasy Trip – India

I think I have a love/hate relationship with India.

I love the food, the culture, the music, the movies–but recently with stories of people dying after being gang-raped my heart has been broken and the wonder that India held for me

dwindled considerably.  But even with that, I still cannot get ever the completely draw this country has on me. Each time I watch a movie, or documentary or speak with friends and look at their pictures, it amazes me at the yearning I feel for a place I’ve never been. It is as if I am homesick for this country with its spices, mysteries, superstitions, food and people that speaks languages as old as time. I am intrigued by the customs, though some of them are old enough and cruel enough to break your heart. I love the history of the Rajputs and the Gods. And these are just SOME of the things. I wish to be surrounded by.

I am curious by the way things are done there on a daily basis–things from the development of friendships to falling in love. Do the girls there have girl’s nights and do they laugh and talk over dinner while talking about boys. Sure, life is hard for most there but after all, women are women, young girls are young girls and we all giggle and talk about boys no matter our socio-economic background. I’d like to sit down and talk to people, ask questions from elders and attempt at learning the sitar. I want to wear a sari, with beads and jewels and dance in the streets during holi while throwing colored powder at people.

The Taj Mahal

I want to stand close to the Taj Mahal and make a wish – sure that may sound strange but it has always been a dream of mine. If I could touch the building while making the wish then that would be the most perfect wish come through ever! But that may be too much to ask.

After all, this place is such a beautiful, mystical view that it cannot help being magical!

Here are some beautiful pictures that might show you why I am so intrigued.

Holi in India

The Mahabharata

Ganesha

Shiva

Women in colours – India

Leave a Reply

