STOMP! Toronto!

http://www.mirvish.com/showsLast week, my mom wanted us to have a mother/daughter night out. I love those because the last time we had one of those was that movie with Tommy Lee Jones and Meryl Streep called Hope Springs and let me tell you–That movie was hilarious! We left the theatre laughing it was so good.

So when she wanted to do another one, I figured, bring it on!

She told me STOMP! was coming back to Toronto and when I checked it was only coming for a week!  Before I go any further, I have to say this. Toronto has a wonderful Theatre culture. Sure it’s not Mumbai or Broadway but it has some plays others are jealous of. If you love seeing a good play, stop by King Street on any given day and hopefully you’ll be able to get a ticket because these shows sell out pretty fast.  But they are available there.

We bought our tickets on line and showed up bright and early. We stopped at FUNE a Japanese Restaurant on Simcoe and Adelaid for dinner. That will come in another post but this place was amazing. Anyways, back to the show.

The down side about is the Royal Alexander Theatre doesn’t have elevators. So if you bought tickets for the upper balcony, you have to climb the Wall of Jerricho to get to your seats. The steps down to your seat is another pain the neck because if you trip there’s no where to go but down. It’s so steep. Once you finally sit you feel as if you lean to far forward you’ll topple over to the audience below you–scary.

But I digress.

The show was amazing. If you ever get a chance to see it, you should. I fell in love with John Sawicki instantly. He was the first person you see on stage and then it grew from there. But he was amazing and engaging. Sometimes I was laughing so hard during the show, I had to cover my mouth and look around to see if anyone was laughing. But I never had an issue because everyone around me were cracking up just as much as I was….the strange thing was? All this funny was coming from gestures and dancing and drumming and facial expressions–there wasn’t really a script!

If you get the chance to see STOMP! No matter where – I promise you, the money you spend to see it will not be a waste!

I’m only sad I could only see it once for it was only here for a week worth of performances!

Amazing night!

Leave a Reply

